13 May, 2008

It’s Dead, Jim

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:48 pm by rynserenity

Dang, why is it so hard to come up with creative names for blog posts? Meh. Well, you’ll get the title when you see what I did over my weekend. I had mildly injured my wrist on Friday and had to take the weekend off from knitting and painting, so I decided maybe it was time to finally block the Sun Ray Shawl (scroll down). After a little research on Ravelry, I came up with a few articles on using a hot iron to “kill” the arcrylic to block it and give it a better drape. So, I got out my iron:

pinned out the shawl:

Soaked an old pillowcase in water and spread it over the shawl:

And got to work:


(Note: blogging while ironing is extremely dangerous, and should only be attempted by a seasoned blogging professional. Don’t try this at home)

I used a hot iron, no steam, and ran it over the fabric until the pillowcase was completely dry, then let the shawl sit until it was cool to the touch, and it was dry, stopping every once in a while to admire the great texture of the undulating lace:

Unfortunately, it didn’t work as well as I had hoped it did. When I unpinned it, the fabric curled up a little bit again, and it shrank pretty substantially. When I try this again, I’m running it through the washing machine first, then pinning it out and ironing it. Hopefully, that’ll do it.

Now that my wrist is all better, it’s back to knitting for me! I’m approaching the end of the right sleeve of the Sunrise Circle; I’m hoping to finish it either tomorrow or Thursday. Looks like there’ll be an FO by the end of the week!

Also, while I was in a crafty mood, I made these:

Talk about recycled art! These were made from the side of a Peet’s cup, which always have the neatest designs on them. Hmm, maybe a bracelet to match? I have a collection of these cups sitting around…

1 Comment »

  1. Laiane said,

    I never do well with blog post titles either, but I did get the point of yours almost immediately! The shawl must have been wearing a red shirt…


Leave a Reply

