28 February, 2008

Oh, For the Love of…

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:28 pm by rynserenity

Well, last Tuesday was my birthday. I thought to myself, “today is my day. I think I’ll take the day off from blogging.”

And then promptly took the whole week off. I totally fail as a blogger. Sigh.

Sadly, I don’t have much to show in the way of knitting content, since this week is midterms and the SAT’s are breathing down my neck (ohmygodthey’reonSATURDAY), but what I can show you is this:

I have very sneaky, clever friends. So, I wake up that morning and I go to school, and The Faery meets me on the train like he does (almost) every morning. He gives me a hug and a kiss, says “happy birthday”, and puts this string of mardi gras beads around my neck. I smile and laugh, and am happy.

Then, I get to school, and my friend Chelsea says hello. I mention that it’s my birthday, and she gets all happy and says she has something for me. She reaches into her backpack and pulls out one of those cloth leis you get at the party store and gives it to me. Again, I smile and laugh, because I go to art school and these things just happen. Note that I am not putting two and two together yet.

The bell rings, and we leave class. On my way to Chemistry, my friend Grim comes over, hugs me, says “happy birthday”, and– you guessed it– gives me another flower lei. Now, Grim goes to Hawaii nearly every summer, so I figured she just happened to have them leing around (har har), and that it’s an odd coincidence. Then who should show up but The Faery? He grins and laughs… and puts a string of mardi gras beads around my neck.

Then I figured it out.

This kept happening through the day, by the way. I got more mardi gras beads and leis from some more friends of mine, and even a few of my teacher were in on it! My friends are very sneaky, and I love them dearly. I had a great time, guys! Thanks so much.

As for loot? I got some nice things for my birthday. I got a copy of Victorian Lace Today (squee!), a gift certificate to a spa (this one), some art from my artist friends, and a beautiful shawl pin shaped like a sword:


(shown here on the Snowdrop Shawl because it shows up better than on Secret of the Stole)

I also got a buncha money from the various relatives (being a young adult rocks), so you’ll have to wait until I spend it to see what I got! I’m thinking of a set of the KnitPicks Options needles, maybe some more sock yarn, and one or two sweater’s worth of yarn. Mmm, stash enhancement…

PS. I turned the heel on the first Monkey:

It’s like all the colours of good Indian food.

5 Comments »

  1. […] The Knerdy Knitter put an intriguing blog post on Oh, For the Love of…Here’s a quick excerpt […]

  2. Blondie said,

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Glad you had a great day! Lots of luvs

  3. […] ps, i love youOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. Oh, For the Love of… saved by 9 others     Head1st4Halos7 bookmarked on 03/03/08 | […]

  4. Laiane said,

    Happy (Belated) Birthday! That sword shawl pin r0XX0rs. Pwns, even.

    Laiane (Gamer Girl since 1979, when D&D came in a box.)

  5. Mae said,

    It seems we are on similar knitting wave lengths, first the jaywalkers, now the monkeys! They are my next sock in queue, to be done in NEON YELLOW yarn, haha!


Leave a Reply

