31 December, 2007

El Año Nuevo

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:05 pm by rynserenity

Huh. Would you look at that? It’s the last blog entry for 2007. What happened to this year?! I feel like it went so fast. Normally, I like to make a list of things I’ve accomplished over the year, and I shall do so– but, I will limit myself only to knitterly things. So, in the year 2007, here’s what I accomplished:

* I started this blog!
* I knit my first large-scale lace project (the Showdrop Shawl).
* I learned to knit socks (the Pool Socks), and have subsequently become addicted.
* I taught myself to cable without a cable needle.
* I learned how to spin.
* I managed to buy all of the Interweave Knits issues that came out this year (hey, that’s an accomplishment for me).
* I got my Ravelry invite!
* I have taken the first step towards having and honest-to-god Stash with a capital “S”. I have started buying yarn without having an actual purpose for it:

These two delicious skeins of Noro Kureyon (colourway 199, but I think I’ll call it “Peacock”) found their way into my shopping bag when I went to Stone Mountain and Daughter to get a button for the Squatty Sidekick. I think they will become a long-coveted Argosy; I heart that scarf!

Also, remember that Manos Del Uruguay I bought a few days ago?

Yeah, it’s kind of becoming a scarf. This is most of those two skeins I bought, knit up into most of a Short Row Rib scarf. The yarn is marvelously squishy, beautifully dyed, and spun in a way that makes me aspire to be a much better spinner so I can have yarn like these guys. The pattern’s fun, too: easily memorized, but provides enough spice so that I have to concentrate a little. Perfect winter break knitting. Look at this great texture!


(Sorry if it’s hard to see, but photographing knitware at 7:00pm without an assistant is a wee bit tricky.)

Yeah, you think I’ve got enough scarves? They are my most favourite of accessories, because they go with everything. Also, I live in the SF Bay Area. I frequently need to wear a scarf in July.

Whoops! That was the doorbell. I have company coming over, and need to play hostess. See you in 2008, everyone!

Leave a Reply

