18 December, 2007

Days Until Christmas: 7

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:24 pm by rynserenity

Dear readers,

Please excuse my absence. I kinda… er, fell off of the internet. Again. The month of December, which contains three holidays I celebrate (Hannukah(kind of), Yule, and Christmas), so I have been a very, very busy knitter! While I was falling off the internet, I spent the month of December doing the following:

Getting a new boyfriend TV:

Decorating gingerbread houses:

Making a crazy number (2d6, to be nerdy) of polyhedral dice earrings:

(Psst! Want a pair of your own? If I get my ass in gear, I hope to have my own Esty shop open in the new year! For now, drop me an e-mail at RynSerenity(at)gmail(dot)com, and we’ll work something out.)

Decorating a Christmas tree (and a dachshund):


(Louie’s “helping”)

And knitting:

(no, that’s not a current project. That is a long-ago frogged project. Don’t get your hopes up too high.)

Yes, not only have I managed to knit this month, I’ve actually managed to finish some things! The nice thing about the holidays is that I feel so productive! And panicky. Don’t forget panicky.

Anywho, I managed to finish two projects: the Cable Twist Socks, and a secret project I can’t show you (because the recipient reads The Blog). I don’t have pictures of the socks right now, because my camera battery died mid-photo shoot, so that FO will have to wait until tomorrow. I also have to more projects on the needles:

A mostly-finished Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick, in the luscious, squishy (and affordable!) Cascade 220:

And this:

No, it’s not one of those crazy hyperbolic forms that I’ve seen people knit (although I’d like to make one of those). It’s the beginning of A Scarf Around, a pattern from the talented Maya (I wish I could spin like her…). I thought it would be a quick project (it has been so far), and a good way to get my feet wet in the pool of steeking. The steek you create is sliced open and unraveled to become fringe! How clever is that? I am thoroughly impressed. I just hope I have enough yarn to finish the stripe sequence… (crosses fingers)

Whew! Long catchup post! I hope I don’t fall off of the internet for that long again. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to drink some apple cider and knit like a fiend. Only seven more knitting days (and nights!) until Christmas…

Leave a Reply

