4 November, 2007

Turkey Month!

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:25 pm by rynserenity

November is one of my favourite months becase Thanksgiving is one of my favourite holidays. I hate its origins (“Hi, native people! We come bearing turkey and smallpox!”), but I love the whole family vibe, and I love the fall weather, and I love the crazy amounts of food/cooking that gets to be eaten/done.

God, I hope it cools down soon.

See, here in the San Fransisco Bay Area, we seem to be having a bit of a… heat spike, if you will. For the past few days, it’s been somewhere in the upper 70’s to the lower 80’s. That’s hot, especially for around here. Where’s all the fog? Where’s all the cold, windy weather that makes you want to cook large, comforting meals for your loved ones? I feel a little cheated. (pout)

So, to show you how little self-control I have, I bought more sock yarn:

This little piece of autumn-y heaven right here would be Paca-Peds, made by the fabulous Alpaca Yarn Co, in the appropriately-named colourway Harvest. Just looking at this yarn in the store made me think of picking apples off of the tree in the backyard, choosing just the right pumpkin for Halloween, and the cornucopia of colour that is always present on our Thanksgiving table. I had to have it. So I did. I do believe this yarn will be destined to become a pair of Monkeys, but only time (and swatching!) will tell.

Fear not, fellow knitters! Yours truly has still been working avidly on Secret of the Stole. It’s been to hot to work on my other projects (and the socks are my “going out project”), so it’s been getting lots of attention. Here it is, reclining in its Ziplock baggie home:

This thing is getting big! I can’t wait to see the finished product, especially since I’m getting really sick of the square-ish central motif. It looks pretty, but it’s getting boring. At least this part of the stole is getting knit up really quick!

To give you an example of the stole’s size, I will leave you with a picture of all the current charts lined up on my desk:

This is starting to get a little rediculous.

2 Comments »

  1. The autumn color way is beautiful. I share your “heat wave” pain. Here in Alabama, we not only have had a ridiculously hot summer, but no rain. Our pond on the property is gone now and all summer while it was drying up the birds had easy pickings of the fish.

    Your stole charts are about to get very interesting again, very soon, I promise. There are only three more hints to go. Can you believe it? Good job keeping up with them. Fair Winds

  2. Laiane said,

    Gorgeous yarn; I love autumn colors, too.

    I hope you get some cooler weather soon. I’m up in Michigan. Would you care for some of our snow? Yes, SNOW! We’re not supposed to get any accumulation though…

    Oh, I loved the line about bearing turkey and smallpox. I have a dark sense of humor.


Leave a Reply

