16 October, 2007

See, I’m Using Beads…

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:11 pm by rynserenity

Yes, my dears. The Knerdy Knitter is, despite being heaped with homework, studying for midterms, and having a cold, making progress! Hooray for her!

Last night, I was going to sit down and knit, but I got a bit… distracted:


(sorry for the blurries. I took this picture early in the morning, and couldn’t hold the camera steady enough.)

I was playing around with my beads, and here’s what came out of it. I rather like it (and it looks especially festive with the turquoise polo shirt I’m wearing). I’m glad to be getting back into beads again. I used to do a lot of beadwork back before knitting and spinning kind of took over my free time, and sometimes it’s nice to pay a visit back to it. I’ve been toying around with the idea of setting up my own Etsy shop; what do people think of that?

Anywho, onto knitting! Last night, I sat down and finished Clue 2 of SOtS:


(again, very blurry pictures. I’ll dry-block it and edit the photos soon, I promise.)

I’m really digging this pattern! It’s so much fun to watch the piece unfold. Since I’m working in green, the pattern looks really leafy or forest-y to me, but I totally see what people mean about the celestial theme. It’ll be interesting to see what the theme of this piece is. Right now, I have no idea. What I do know, however, is that I like how the motif on the left and right panels:

is starting to repeat itself in the middle of the stole:

By the way, JaggerSpun SuperFine is some of THE softest yarn I have ever worked with! I cannot wait to use this yarn again for another project. I’ve had my eye on the Twinkle Twinkle Little Star Shawl from Elann.com for a while now…

Oh! Also, I finished the foot of the Cable Twist Socks:

Next stop: turning the heel! Since these are my “going out” projects, we’ll see how well that turns out. I personally think that short-row heels hold up better to being worked in segments than heel flaps do, but that’s just personal opinion…

And of course, as always, these socks look like a total mess when they’re not on the foot, but as soon as you put them on:

Bam! The magic happens.

I think that’s all for now. I’m going to go work on Himalaya some more. Until later, dear knitters!

6 Comments »

  1. Peggy said,

    Your stole is looking lovely and I love the socks. My two weaknesses. Well, two of my weaknesses.

  2. Linda said,

    I have been looking at the Himalaya. But I have never done any enterlac. Is it hard to do????

  3. Great, now I have to make a green Secret of the Stole too. I just saw a red one this morning and I think I am going to end up doing several more. Your stole is just gorgeous!! Thanks for the photos!

  4. Sylvie said,

    Your SOS is looking great! I’m kniting a green one too.

  5. Anna said,

    Great job on the socks and the stole. Both are looking great! I switched to knitting my socks on 2 circular needles to make them even more portable. This next comment is about your previous post. I really wish that I had been confident enough to knit in class when I was in high school and college. I can think of many English Lit and Microbiology lectures that would have gone much quicker if I’d have been knitting.

  6. Tanja said,

    Hello,
    we have Beads ( Perlen ), too.
    Tanja


Leave a Reply

