6 October, 2007

Socktober!

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:19 pm by rynserenity

So, the first clue for Secret of the Stole was released tomorrow! Hooray! I was starting to get very impatient. The construction of the stole looks really interesting, we start by knitting two separate points, then join them together and work the remainder of the chart. I’ve never knit a piece like this before, so this was very exciting for me. Here’s how far I’ve gotten:


(for those in the KAL, I just finished Row 58 out of 83. I have 25 rows to go!)

And here’s a slight close-up of the pattern in the stole body:

Sorry, guys. This is the best you’re getting tonight. I do not have the mental capacity to put in a lifeline, take this thing off the needles (I’m using straights that are not quite long enough to stretch the whole thing out on), and dry-block it so you can get a better picture. When I finish Clue 1, I’ll do that, and try to post it tomorrow.

So, I set a rule for myself: I am not allowed to work on any of my other projects until I finish the current clue for Secret of the Stole. That way, I will actually finish this thing relatively on time (I’d actually like to wear this for the holidays, like the pattern suggests).

And then I was weak, and decided to order “reward yarn”. Look what came for me in the mail today:

Ooh, a mysterious pakage! I wonder what could be inside? Well, judging from the post title (you clever knitters, you), it simply must be:

Two delicious skeins of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the colourway Mint, although I think it’s really closer to a seafoam, but I’m an artist, and we are notoriously colourblind. It even comes in a cute little drawstring bag; how charming. I even have a pattern in mind: the Cable Twist Socks from Hello Yarn. Mmm, texture…

And, to make things even more delicious, I got this yarn for such a steal: $14 for both skeins, shipping included! Squee!

How did I come across such an amazing deal, you ask? You see, our dear friend SequinK was in need of a knitterly “housecleaning” (read: de-stashing), and I was more than happy to take this off of her hands! Go check out her blog, and see if anything catches you eye; she’s got crazy-low prices, and you’ll be helping out a fellow knitter! Hurry though; everything is going fast!

Well, I’m off to work on Clue 1 some more. I want to work on Himalaya! That, or cast on for the Cable Twist Socks…

PS. Here’s how I keep my place while I’m working through the huge-ass chart of doom:

Yay, highlighters! Sometimes being a student comes in handy.

3 Comments »

  1. […] stupid stuff my roomate said wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI even have a pattern in mind: the Cable Twist Socks from Hello Yarn….Two delicious skeins of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the colourway Mint, although I think it’s… […]

  2. The stole is looking great! Keep up the good work.

  3. Sylvie said,

    Very nice! Love the green!

    I’m part of this KAL too and I’ll be starting on mine sometime today.


Leave a Reply

