4 October, 2007

A Spot of Green

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:21 pm by rynserenity

Look! Yarn in its natural habitat!


(yeah, I’m trying to be more creative as to how I photograph things.)

What you see is two absolutely luscious skeins of Superfine Merino, by JaggerSpun, in the colourway Basil. I’m not sure how it looks on your computer, but the colour is about dead-on on my monitor. I am in love with this yarn! It’s deliciously soft, extra-squeezeable, and has very generous yardage (about 630 yards per skein).

What project is this for, you ask? Well, it’s for this:

Yup. That’s the swatch for Secret of the Stole. I figured that since, you know, the first clue is released tomorrow, it would be a really great time to finally buy the yarn. I decided to use US 6 needles for this project, because I like the density of the fabric that it creates, although I probably would have been fine with US 4’s.

Okay, fine. To be honest, I’ve pretty much spent all my yarn money for this month (I’ve also got another mysterious purchase, which is due to arrive any day now), and I really can’t justify spending any more on a new pair of needles, when I have a pair that will work just fine. We’ll see how things look once I start knitting up the first clue.

SOtS starts tomorrow! I am so excited!

PS. I’m also still working on Himalaya. I finished the second tier of rectangles, and just picked up the stitches for the third tier. As it stands, I am roughly 18% complete with the shawl. Yay!

Leave a Reply

