2 October, 2007

Math in the Himalayas

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:18 pm by rynserenity

Urgh. I was a total zombie yesterday, so I zoned out on the couch yesterday and worked on a bunch on Himalaya. Then, I came home today and did a bunch more:


Entrelac is addicting.

Yeah, it looks totally funky and (dare I say it?) intestine-like, but if you spread the stitches out like so:

It starts to actually look like something. It’s really wrinkly and funky-looking now, but I am confident that a) the weight of the rest of the shawl and b) a good blocking will straighten things out and make them lay flatter. I also plan to steam-press all the seams where the blocks join (a la Grumperina), to make everything behave better.

Entrelac is such a fun technique! I think I was scared of it because the instructions always sounded confusing to me, but once I actually started knitting, it was a very intuitive thing. I also got a chance to practice left-handed knitting, AKA “knitting backwards”. I’m so glad I’m ambidexterous; it’s a total lifesaver for this technique! I would go batshit crazy if I had to turn my knitting around every time I needed to purl across the wrong-side rows. Plus, it just looks cool.

Alright, on to the math portion of this post. I like to know how much progress I’ve made on something, so I needed to do a little math. Himalaya starts with fifteen “base triangles”, then continues with rectangles, tapering until the piece becomes one lonely rectangle:

1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14    15
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13    14
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12    13
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11    12
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    11
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9
1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8
1    2    3    4    5    6    7
1    2    3    4    5    6
1    2    3    4    5
1    2    3    4
1    2    3
1    2

(apologies for the huge-ass diagram; photoshop is being a bitch and won’t talk to me)

Now, I figure that two triangles roughly equal one rectangle in size, which means a bit of simple division:

2/15 = 7.5 base “rectangles”

Which is followed by a bit of simple (but long) addition:

15 + 14 + 13 + 12 + 11 + 10 + 9 + 8 + 7 + 7.5 + 6 + 5 + 4 + 3 + 2 + 1 = 117.5 rectangles total.

I’ve completed all fifteen triangles, and seven base rectangles:

7.5 + 7 = 14.5 rectangles finished

All that’s left is a bit of basic division:

14.5/117.5 = about 0.12
0.12 x 10 = 12% complete

Oy! I’ve got a long, long way to go. Luckily, I am still enchanted with this pattern/technique. Let’s hope it sees me through!

(sorry for such a long entry. This is what I do instead of what I’m supposed to be doing, which is my math homework.)

PS. Three days until Secret of the Stole starts! I’m so excited!

2 Comments »

  1. Nancyanne said,

    I enjoyed your post! I am currently enrolled in an entrelac design class at my shop. The teacher is Sarah Peasley. In this class you get to design a pullover, or cardigan, without seams, by using the geometry of squares and triangles to wrap around the body. So far, we have had to knit up two swatches. In the second class, today, we will probably start the design process!

    How many other aquarians are doing entrelac right now?

  2. Heather said,

    I found this post from Ravelry! I do have to agree that entrelac is addictive and fun! I’ve only made an entrelac bookmark, but I plan on making Himalaya, too! You work is such inspiration, eventhough I had to read the math portion twice to see what the heck you were talking about! ha!! Happy Knitting!


Leave a Reply

