28 August, 2007

I Was Going to Update…

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:56 pm by rynserenity

…but then school started, and my life exploded. Yeah, today was my first day back, which means a lot less knitting time. I go to an arts school, where the school day is 8:00-4:00, and I have a thirty-minute commute. At least that means lots of sock, scarf, and hat knitting! Maybe I’ll actually get my holiday knitting done in time! (crosses her fingers)

Anywho, guess what I did while I was not blogging?

I finished the Pool Socks! Formal FO in the post right above this. These socks fit really well, and the cuff stays on my feet perfectly. Since they were my first pair, there are mistakes (of course), and they are about 2″ shorter than I had originally thought they were. I still ADORE them, though. I’m really proud of myself, and I can’t wait to knit my next pair! I think I may knit Vinnland next, and maybe try Magic Loop, too. That technique has always interested me…

Also, Sagittaria has grown quite a bit since we last saw her:


(why do shawls always seem to be feminine, anyway?)

I’ve finished four out of seven repeats of Chart II! I was really surprised at how fast those first ones went, but the shawl grows by four stitches a row, so the rows are starting to get a wee bit soul-crushing. I am starting to get really sick of this stitch pattern, and can’t wait to knit the bottom border, but look at how pretty it is!

(note to self: when boyfriend is over, ask him to take pictures of the knitting. It is easier with two people.)

It really reminds me of the shawl’s namesake, Sagittaria graminea:

This pattern is still fun because it’s a challenge for me. I’ve never knit a shawl top-down before, and I love to watch how it develops and how the pattern is absorbed into the stitches as they are added. It’s all really good data for me, especially since I’d like to design my own shawl some day. Also, I’ve never knit “true” lace (patterned on both right- and wrong-side rows) before, so it was fun for me to see how that worked. I love lace!

Oh, one more thing before I go: my preferred method of place-keeping while reading a chart is a post-it. Check out the spiffy new ones my mother got me:

Froggie! Agalychnis callidryas, or the Red-Eyed Tree Frog, to be exact. That’s all for now! Hopefully, more tomorrow or Thursday. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

