7 August, 2007

Ha-HAH!

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:45 pm by rynserenity

It’s done! It’sdoneit’sdoneit’sdone!

Look! The Snowdrop Shawl is off the needles! I finally plunked myself down in front of the TV and finished the last four border repeats, then cast off so loosely I actually gave myself a hand cramp.

Words can’t express how absolutely thrilled I am. This was a project of first for me: First big lace, first shawl, first time picking up stitches. I feel like I learned a lot about shawl construction, and can’t wait to cast on for the next one! Although, I think I may take a short break from shawls and cast on for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan from the Fall  ’07 IK. I love Eunny Jang‘s designs, and the cable pattern on the yoke has special meaning to me, because it’s the same design that’s on my and The Faery’s commitment rings.

Ooh! Ooh! Also! I was rooting through the stash, looking for my yarn cutter, and look what I found:

Yarn pr0n! I found 157 yards of this pretty blue-green sock-weight yarn. This would be perfect paired with some black, or maybe darker blue, yarn. Maybe the Endpaper Mitts? Hmm.

Although, I’ve had an idea for a trapezoidal shawl floating around for a bit, too… maybe I could try my hand at designing something… but there’s also that roving I just bought, I really should start spinning that… and… and…

Methinks I’m going to go have a bit of a lie-down now.

PS. Socks? What socks?

2 Comments »

  1. Sarah said,

    Oh, your first shawl! Squee! 🙂 Lace is such an exciting thing to finish, and just wait till you block it! It’s like magic, I swear. 🙂

  2. Mae said,

    OOOH! It looks SO good!!! I have yet to conquer the shawl too, but I predict within the next 6 months I will have one on my needles! haha. Congrats!!!

    I am jealous if you cast on and knit the Fall IK cardi!!! I want to do that one so badly as well, but I have so much in the queue!!!


Leave a Reply

