23 June, 2007

I’m Not Quite Dead Yet!

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:01 pm by rynserenity

Sorry for the long absence, dear knitters. I was away at the Faery’s house for a few days, and I’ve just come down with an unpleasant cold which kept me asleep for most of the day.

But, oh! The things I have to show you. I’ve been knitting:

Behold! The beginning of my first pair of socks! They look a little too small in the picture (really, they fit perfectly) because the DPN’s were being stubborn and slippery. I’m still getting the hang of knitting with DPN’s this small (because I haven’t knit anything small in the round lately), but the knitting’s going along fairly well. For those who asked, I’m using the basic toe-up formula from Knitty, which I found to be extremely easy. I plan on using it in the future to design a pair of socks that are floating around in my mind (but I want to actually knit some socks first).

This yarn is a dream to work with! It’s beautifully soft, and the colours are beautiful. I am totally enthralled with hand-painted yarns now. It’s so much fun to watch the colours gradually shift and change, going from electric blue to deep turquoise and all the shades in between, undulating almost like gentle waves in a crystal-clear swimming pool. I think I’ll call these the Pool Socks.

But! That’s not all I’ve been up to. On Tuesday, my friend K. and I met up, and she taught me to spin!

The colours are almost completely accurate in this photo! Yay! What you see here is most of the roving I was given to practice on, spun up into an as-of-yet-uncalculated number of yards of real, honest-to-god yarn. Granted, it’s still inconsistant, slubby yarn, but I’ve only been spinning for a grand total of four days. I’m quite proud of the progress I’ve made in such a short time, and now I have a new craft to blow my disposable income on! I’m having a lot of fun with this roving. It’s dyed in a bunch of different colours, so I’ve been amusing myself by pulling off strips at random and seeing what colours I’ve spun up. Most of it is dyed in soft, dark shades of blue, purple, grey, and green, but every now and then, I get a stripe of electric blue! It’s totally enchanting.

Let’s see, have I forgot anything? Oh, yes. I also worked one more repeat on the Snowdrop Shawl. Only one more to go, and then I get to knit the border! Whopee! I think I’m going to get myself some more Airborne, find the kleenex, and settle in to knitting some more on the Pool Socks. Ta, all!

Leave a Reply

