31 May, 2007

Wake Me Up Before You Go-go…

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:17 pm by rynserenity

I have been so incredibly tired this week, and for the life of me, I can’t figure out why. It’s like this weird, end-of-the-year fatigue that hits me during the last few weeks of school, despite the fact that we’re not really doing anything work-wise. Maybe it’s all the built-up stress of the year finally having a chance to release itself, and it’s hitting all at once. I don’t know.

One thing I do know, however, is that fatigue makes for lots of great knitting time! I’ve been flopped on the couch with the director’s commentary from Firefly playing, so I don’t have to pay too much attention to what’s going on in the show (because I’ve seen every episode of Firefly at least twice, some more than that (*cough*”Shindig”*cough*)), and I can just focus on Ziggy:

What you see here, my friends, is just under two and one-half repeats of the chart. The pattern itself is extremely easy, but the decreases change from k2tog to ssk (sometimes in the same row), and the sl1-k2tog-psso to k3tog, quite frequently, so you’ve got to keep an eye on the chart, or you might find that your zigs are suddenly zagging (wow, that sounds kind of dirty…).

I am still loving this yarn, and praying that I have enough for a scarf. I may have to scurry down to Stash and see if they still have any of the same dye lot left, because I am extremely paranoid about running out. If I don’t, then I’ll just have to figure out what to do with an extra skein of Melange. [sarcasm]Oh no whatever shall I do?[/sarcasm]

I’m taking a foreign film class at school, and since I suffer from a chronic inability to sit still, I needed something to occupy my hands that didn’t require a chart, so I’ve been plugging away at Shifting Sands. I am 87%  complete, which means a total of 83 repeats completed. Holy %*@$! How’d that happen? Apparently, I knit extremely quickly if I have nothing else to do…

Anywho, I’m running out of places to drape the thing while I photograph it, so I had to get creative:

Yes, that’s my ceiling fan. On one hand, I discovered that I need to add “dust the fan blades” to my “things to do” list:

On the other hand, I discovered that this stitch pattern makes for a great dust cloth (no offense to the lovely Grumperina, designer of this pattern)! The dust came out easily with a little spritz from my handy-dandy water-filled spray bottle.

And, of course, I just now had to realize that Shifting Sands will grow during blocking, which means that I may not have to knit the full 95 repeats. Woo-hoo!

Although I may just do it anyway, because I’m neurotic enough that I freak out when the plans change, even if they’re good plans. Someone pass me the black tea…

PS. Since I will be out of the house (Friday is gaming night, so I’ll be up all knight night pretending to be a druid and kicking ass), here’s this week’s Eye Candy Friday, a day early:

I’m not sure what it is, but it’s pretty! See you guys Saturday (or Sunday, if I’m really a space cadet)!

Leave a Reply

