29 May, 2007

Look! Knitting! (and a meme)

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:22 pm by rynserenity

So, I’m feeling much better, compared to how I was feeling yesterday. My mother let me sleep in, and after waking up at about 10:00 this morning, I attempted to eat again, and everything stayed down. I went to school, and I seem to be doing much better, except I’m still extremely tired.

So, like I said yesterday, I’ve been knitting, but slowly, since I’d knit a few rows, fall asleep for ten minutes, knit a few rows, fall asleep in the middle of a row, wake up, rip out three rows, etc. If you remember back to last Thursday, I ended up frogging the Kelp Leaves scarf and cast on for Ziggy, from MagKnits. I’ve done about a repeat and a half:

Mmm, double yarnovers. This lace is basic stockinette, patterned only on one side, but the wrong side has you knitting into each loop of the double yarnover, which took some interesting needle acrobatics until I got it down:

(Finally! A fairly colour-accurate picture of the yarn!) I think it looks very pretty. I may have to experiment with double yarnovers a bit more…
Also, the chart for Ziggy is tiny, so I had to enlarge it in Photoshop:

But that made it a wee bit blurry, so I had to ink over all the symbols with my trusty 0.05mm Micron pen (Yay for being an artist/knitter/geek!), and that made everything much clearer.

That’s about all I’ve done knitting-wise for the past few days, so I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and fill out the “Five Weird Things About Me” meme:

1. I am ambidextrous. I can do nearly everything with both hands, but for things like writing and drawing, I am usually a lefty. Surprisingly enough, I knit right-handed.

2. I have double-jointed shoulder blades. This really freaked out my bellydance teacher when she first saw me do that stretch where you hook your hands together behind your back.

3. I am completely obsessed with infectious diseases. Smallpox, Ebola, Marburg, the Flu; I love them all. The Hot Zone, despite being over-dramatized, is one of my favourite books. This also freaks a lot of people out.

4. I have a deep-seated loathing of shoes. I hate wearing them, and try to do so as little as possible. If I have to wear shoes, then I’m usually in sandals. I was very upset when I found out that my school has a “no open-toed shoes” policy.

5. Possibly due to the fact that I can be extremely Obsessive-Compulsive, and possibly because I’m just eccentric, all the books on my bookshelf are not only organized by genre, they are also alphabetized.

Since I don’t think anyone really reads this blog yet, and a lot of bloggers have filled this out already, I’ll cross-post this to my LiveJournal, and I can tag people there. Until next time, dear knitters!

1 Comment »

  1. Vyvyan said,

    Glad to hear your well enough to knit and blog again! Since you’re ambidextrous you should try ambi-knitting. I kinda shortened the term for it but it’s usually called knitting backwards or backward knitting. I hate that term and since I saw someone else tack the name “ambidextrous knitting” to it, that’s what I call it now. Anyway, I bet you could learn it faster than a plain ol’ right or lefty could.

    You are weird! I don’t see how you can be O-C ~and~ like to go barefoot. Don’t you worry about feet cooties? (Just trying to give you more to obsess over- :] )


Leave a Reply

