22 May, 2007

There’s Leaves, I Swear!

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:22 pm by rynserenity

I’ve been chugging along on my mother’s Kelp Leaves scarf, and at first I thought I was doing something wrong, but then I saw the leaves!

(scarf shown here with the Spring ’07 IK, which I finally got into my hot little hands a week ago) Can’t see the leaves? Here’s a close-up:

I’ve finished an entire repeat plus a few rows, and while the right side is coming out nearly perfectly, for some reason, the left side looks like it’s coming out a bit wonky. I’m going to knit on it for a bit so I can see what’s up with the “stem” on that side.

Also, I am almost certain that there is a chart error, but I think I may have fixed it. I found where the wandering stitch belongs, and have incorporated my own correction into my mental pattern notes (there’s a lot of those, by the way). I’m quite proud of myself. Also, I think I may have developed an addiction to Blue Sky Alpaca‘s yarns. It’s so soft! I just can’t put it down. I am seriously contemplating using it for my next piece of summer knitting:

Yup, the Clementine Shawlette from the Spring ’07 IK, except I’m not going to knit those weird doohickeys at the end. I see their function, and think they’re very clever; I just don’t want them on my shawl. I may end up just knitting it as a straight rectangle, but I like the idea of the sloping edges, too. I’ll have to see how it goes when I swatch with it. Yes, I am actually contemplating knitting it in orange, but a really pale lavender is tempting, too. *plot plot scheme scheme* I think I’m going to go turn on my fan and knit on the crack scarf some more.

PS. I’m still working on Shifting Sands, too, a little at a time. I finished another two repeats today, which puts it at 65% complete. Yay for progress!

Leave a Reply

