20 May, 2007

Jeez, I’ve Been Busy…

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:23 pm by rynserenity

Whew! In the past four days, this is the first chance I’ve gotten to really sit down at the computer! Why is it that the end of the school year is always the busiest? I mean, really; I’ve got, what, three weeks left of school? And they’re heaping work on us like it’s mid-semester. Whew! I’ll be glad for summer vacation.

Anywho, I have managed to sneak in knitting time (keeps me sane, and from becoming too neurotic), and Shifting Sands has really grown!

See? I had to drape quite a ways across my studio desk (specially cleaned for this photo. My desk is never that clean. Ever. I’m an artist and a nerd, remember?) I had a lot of free time during STAR testing, what can I say? Anywho, the scarf’s 60 repeats long now, making it an estimated 63% complete. Woo hoo for fast knits! Out of curiosity, I draped it around my neck to check the length, and I’m very pleased with the progress:

Yeah, a bit uneven, but it still demonstrates the length fairly well. It’s definately plugging along. I’m really glad that this scarf’s almost done, because I finally secured the yarn for my mother’s birthday present (which I still need to work out the modifications for)!

Voila! Three delicious skeins of Blue Sky Alpaca’s Melange. This stuff is so fabulously delicious, and at only $9 a skein, it’s decadantly within my price range. I’ve been keeping a skein of it next to my bed, so I can pick it up and fondle it every now and then. I think the Faery’s starting to get a wee bit jealous… 😉 I can’t wait to start knitting with this stuff, but I won’t have the time to cast on until tomorrow, I hope *crosses fingers*. Since my mother’s birthday is in three weeks, I’ve really gotta get cracking on this project, so Shifting Sands and the Snowdrop are going to have to go on hold for a bit. I’ll try and keep the photos interesting by including “blog fodder” like pets and signifigant others. Coming up next time: Ryn’s Adventures in Pattern Modifying, or “why the $&%@^! aren’t I getting the right gauge?” or “Gods, I hope I have enough of this yarn,” depending on my luck. See you all tomorrow (if my homework doesn’t eat me)!

Leave a Reply

