25 April, 2007

Mmm, Tolkien…

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:49 pm by rynserenity

Yes, a nerdy post. When I logged into Gmail this morning, there was an e-mail from Barnes & Noble informing me about a new book by J.R.R. Tolkien– who is, in my opinion, one of the greatest writers every– entitled Children of Hurin. Now, I am a huge Tolkien fan. I’ve read the Lord of the Rings so many times my copies are falling apart. I read The Simarillion, actually finished it, and enjoyed every minute of it. I am majorly excited about this book. Apparently, Tolkien never had a chance to finish it, so his son Christopher finished it, and it’s been published! I am so happy I could dance! Well, I did, but that’s a whole other story…

Anywho, I feel some celebratory knitting must happen! Anyone got some ideas for a vaguely Tolkien-esque pattern? I’m totally drawing a blank on this one. The closest I can think of would be this skirt, which looks semi-Elvish to me. Any thoughts?

Also, to keep with the “knitter” part of “knerdy knitter”, insert a picture of the Snowdrop looking roughly the same. Since I only work on it in the evening, and this thing is getting fairly huge, I can average about one full repeat a night, which is about four rows. Four rather long rows… but the end seems to be in sight! I’ve completed 35 repeats, out of a total of an estimated 52. I’m more than halfway there! In fact, lemme get my calculator, I am 67% done with the body of the shawl! Huzzah!

Also, insert picture of the headband looking quite a bit longer. Apologies for the lack of pictures; it would seem that my father took the camera into the office today (we own our own business) and forgot to bring it home. Hopefully, pictures tomorrow! As for the headband, I’ve finished all the required increases, so I just need to knit the main part for the forehead, and then it’s all downhill from there! Literally.

That’s all for now! Until next time, good knitters. I bid you all goodnight.

Leave a Reply

