23 April, 2007

Current WIPs

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:57 pm by rynserenity

Every good knitblog should have lots of pictures, right? So, here we go with what’s currently on the needles:

This, my dear knitting friends, is my current large project. Ignore the paper in the lefthand side; it’s a Dungeons & Dragons character sheet (for a kick-ass Half-Elf Ranger, if you must know). This blog is called “The Knerdy Knitter” for a reason, you know…

Obligatory close-up shot. Mmm, lace… Yes, this project is, in fact, the “Snowdrop Shawl”, by none other than the fabulous Yarn Harlot, who can be credited as the inspiration for starting this blog. She once commented on a young knitter she saw, and wrote, “Someone get this girl a blog and a camera.” I took it as a challenge, so I got myself a blog (I already had a camera), and set up shop. I figured there weren’t nearly enough teenage knitters with blogs out there already, so I set off to prove myself. Well, that and to prove to my gaming group that knitting CAN be knerdy nerdy…

Since this project is too big to take on public transit (I commute to school), here is my “travel project”:

My apologies for the horrible lighting of my living room. Anyways, this is the beginnings of the “Cabled Ski Headband” from One Skein Wonders: 101 Yarn Shop Favourites, which is an awesome book. I’m not biased just because my LYS has a featured pattern, no… As of right now, I love this pattern. It’s my first attempt at cabling, and I think it’s coming out pretty well for a first attempt. Luckily, this is the part of the headband that goes at the back of the neck, so nobody will see my crappy beginnings. I had a few rough starts with the *&^%($! provisional cast-on (another first for me), but after that, things were going smoothly. This is a really cleverly-designed pattern, I think; the provisional cast-on is grafted together with the end to form a seamless, comfortable join, and the band is gradually increased for maximum forehead coverage. It’s a fun, quick pattern. I might have to make one for a friend whose birthday is coming up in a few days…

Does anyone else notice a recurring white theme here? This worries me… at least both yarns were cheap. The laceweight is nearly 3,000 meters of 100% MERINO. You read that right. Merino. Guess how much it was? $15. For all of it. I had to sit down for a minute when I read the tag. The yarn for the headband was some generic soft arcrylic I picked up at my local thrift store. It had no label, so I have no idea what it is. I like the way it looks, and it’s soft, so it’s all good. I am not particularly a yarn snob. When you’re a sophmore at an art school, you can’t afford to be.

Well, that’s all I’m working on as of now! Once the headband’s finished, I’m thinking of starting something for summer. Possibly some sort of lacy tanktop. Methinks The Faery would like that… 😉

Leave a Reply

