19 May, 2008

The Eye of the Tiger

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:20 pm by rynserenity

This year, I had a truly awesome Pre-Calculus teacher. He was smart and sarcastic, lax about stuff like eating in class, and super-friendly. He’d always take extra time to explain a particularly difficult concept if even a few people weren’t getting it, making sure the majority of the class was all on the same page before moving on to the next topic. And when we came into class on exam days, he’d always have “Eye of the Tiger” playing on his computer for us, as sort of a “congratulations, you’re almost there. Now all you need to do is take all the information spilling out of your brains and dump it on the paper, and you’re done.”

That is exactly how I feel right now about the Sunrise Circle:

[

Look! Look at how close I am! As you can see, the jacket is fully wearable, but it still needs a few details. Things such as sewing down the front hems and buying buttons. I need something truly spectacular for this jacket; I mean, this is my first sweater! I’m thinking sea green or deep turquoise, fused glass or vintage pearlescent. Maybe even wooden toggles. It’ll all depend on what treasures I find at Stonemountain and Daughter when I drop by after school tomorrow.

On another note, I am completely enchanted with the hem facings:


Tacked down on the inside,


Barely visible from the outside!

So neat and tidy! I am already plotting what the next garment might be… I’m looking at you, Tangled Yoke Cardigan

PS. Check out the cutie I found on my wall this morning:

Wouldn’t that be the perfect closure for the jacket?