17 May, 2008

In Which My Bedroom Smells of Wool

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:27 pm by rynserenity

Yup, you’re hearing (er, reading) that right: my bedroom smells like wool. Wet wool, to be specific. You see, I am blocking the pieces of the Sunrise Circle Jacket:

You only see the sleeves in the above picture because the back has already been blocked:

And is waiting for me to block the sleeves. Again. See, what happened was that since it was so unbearably hot on Friday, I thought a good way to cool off and be productive would be to submerge woolly items into cool water, then pin them to my bed with the fan going full-blast. They’d dry quickly, right? Well, they did. The only problem was that I’d forgotten to close the door all the way. Enter the guilty party:

Louie here decided it would be a great idea to JUMP ON THE BED. I damn near had a heart attack when I came back in and saw the pieces in disarray. Luckily, the back was totally fine, and the sleeves just needed some “touch-ups”. The right sleeve needed it’s collar re-blocked, but the left sleeve needed a full do-over. So, now I have the fan going full-blast again, and hoping that they’ll dry pretty fast, since there’s still a bit of carry-over heat from the day.

Luckily, it’s cooling down fast, so I don’t have to feel like I’m dying anymore (heat wuss, remember?). This has been my hot weather project:


(Pattern in the Little Star Afghan, found here)

I know, I know! It’s crochet. Don’t kick me out of the club, please? See, I re-learned how to crochet not that long ago, and when it’s hot, crochet is easier on my hands. The yarn is arcrylic, so it doesn’t stick to my hands and start to felt a little like wool does, and holding one hook is easier than two needles.

Speaking of yarn, I scored at Thrift Town yesterday. Check it out!

Bag o’ Yarn for the win! I don’t know the full extent of its’ contents, but I’ll certainly fill y’alls in tomorrow when I plumb its’ woolly depths. I’m gonna go play with my shiny new toy:


(Shiny new MacBook! The other computer in the background is my faithful iBook, which was school-assigned. I have to give it back in a week or two)

Did you hear that? That was the sound of all my free time going down the drain. I have a new computer. I think I might be in love. I shall call her… well, I don’t know yet. I think we need to get to know each other more…

1 Comment »

  1. Laiane said,

    Ooooo….shiny…new….machine….

    FWIW, my computer’s name is Squeaker. We’re networked at home with about 4 (or is it 5?) machines, so each has it’s own name. The Husband’s main box is Schizo.

    I used to know how to crochet, about 35 years ago! The afghan looks promising.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

